Adding Files

You can add a file from one of the following types of pages in Clearvale:

  • Network page. The file will by default be shared with the network space.
  • Community page. The file will by default be shared with the community.
  • Personal page (My Page). The file will by default not be shared with anyone.

On any of these pages, either click Add File in the bottom of the Files widget. Or, if the directory widget is available (Network Directory, Community Directory, or Profile Directory), click Files in the directory widget and then click Add File.

On the Add Files page, perform the following steps:

  • Select the Upload radio button if it is not already selected. (For information on using the Embed button, see Embedding Videos from External Sources for more information.)
  • Click Select Files to choose the file or files you want to upload to the network. Note that you can upload multiple files at one time by Control-clicking on each file. Or, click Select More to upload more files. Once the file is uploaded, you will notice that Title is auto-filled with the file name. Edit file name if you want a different title to appear in the network. For example, if you upload a file named new_hire_checklist.doc, you might want to rename it as New Hire Checklist.
  • Optionally, add a file description for the uploaded file or files. You can apply the description to all files being uploaded, or uncheck Apply to all uploads and enter a description for each individual file being updated.
  • If folders exist, you can optionally add your file to a folder or to several folders by clicking on the folder name in the Folders selection box. If no folders exist and you want to create a new folder, see Creating Folders for more information.
  • Enter any tags you want to specify for the file or files. If you are adding a file at the network level, you can select one or more default network tags or define your own tags for the content. If you are adding a file to a community, you can select one or more default community tags or define your own tags for the content.
  • Determine whether or not you want participants to be able to view the file history. Select Allow anyone to view file history to provide the History link for all network participants. Anyone can click the History link to see who has downloaded, previewed, or updated the file. If you want to hide this information from most people, instead select Limit file history to those who can edit file. Then only people with Edit access to the file will see the History link for the file.
  • If your network is configured to let file owners control whether files are downloadable, you will see a check box labeled View Only. Check this box to prevent network participants from downloading your file.  (Of course anyone who has Edit permission on the file can still download it.)  Check the preferred resolution for the preview images. In general, you want to use PDF preview unless it isn’t supported by the network participants’ browsers.
  • Choose your Sharing settings.
    • To share the file with a specific individual or group, start typing the name in the text box in the Members with access area. If you aren’t sure of the name, click Choose Members. The Choose Members page appears where you can:
      • Search or navigate to a person and share the file with them.
      • Search or navigate to a group and share the file with the entire group.
      • If your network administrator defined an organization, you can search or navigate to an assignee by using the organization structure.
      • Place a check mark next to the member name or group to which to share the file and click Done.
    • To share the file with the entire network, check Share with current network in the Networks with access area.
    • To share the file with one or more communities, start typing the community’s name in the text box in the Communities with access area. If you aren’t sure of the community’s name, you can click Choose Communities to display a popup with all the community names.
    • Use the Permissions drop-down list to set the sharing access level (such as view, edit, or owner).
  • Check the General public checkbox if you have a public network and you want to let non-logged-in users  see the file that you are adding.
  • Use the radio buttons to indicate Yes or No for displaying the file on the Network page.
  • Click Save. If you want to create a task that is associated with the file, for example to assign someone to review your document, click Save & Add Task instead of Save. The Add Task page appears, with your file attached. For information on creating tasks, see Using Tasks.

When done uploading a file, you can fine-tune the file’s settings. To do so, click on the file name and adjust the settings:

  • Adjust the Flag setting for your file. This setting indicates the importance of an item. By default, the flag is set to normal. If you click on the exclamation point icon, you activate the flag and change it to orange, which identifies the file as important. This icon toggles between the two settings.
  • Adjust the Status setting to indicate if the file is In Progress or Completed. This setting is a toggle.
  • Adjust the Due Date for your file.
  • Click the Edit link you want to add a file description or make other changes.