Sharing Files

Clearvale organizes files into the following “spaces”:

  • Personal or profile files. Personal files are files specific to you. You might upload a file and keep it in your personal space as you work on the file. When you are done editing the file, you might share it with others in the network.
  • Community files. Community files are visible to members of a community.
  • Network files. Network files are visible to all network members.

You determine the space in which a file appears in when you upload it to Clearvale by setting share settings for the file. You can share a file with one or more of the following:

  • Specific people
  • A community
  • The entire network
  • Another network (if you have an ecosystem of networks)

For example, you can create a network-level file for a document that everyone in your company network should see; on the other hand, you might have a community-level file for a Human Resources document that only the HR community members should access.

Share Access

When you share a file, you set a share access that determines how they can work with the file:

  • View access indicates that a person, community, or entire network has view access only; no changes to the file can be made. This is the default share access.
  • Edit access indicates that a person, community, or entire network can make changes to the file.
  • Owner access indicates that a person has the exact access to the file as the original file creator; use this to transfer ownership. For example, this can be used if the file creator will no longer be managing the file and you need to designate a new owner.

Viewing Files in Different Spaces

To see the files that exist in each of these spaces, or to add new files to these spaces:

  • For network-level files, navigate to the Network page of your network. Then click the Files link in the Network Directory widget or the More link in a Files widget. If your network does not include a Network page, click the My Page tab and then click Files in the Profile Directory widget. Click Shared with Network to see all files shared with network members.
  • For community-level files, navigate to the community and then click the Files link in the Community Directory widget or the More link in a Files widget.
  • For your files (“My Files”), click the My Page tab and then click the Files link in the Profile Directory widget or the More link in a Files widget. If your network has a Files top-level tab, you can also click that to display your personal files.

Your page will look something like the following:

These are the files that you uploaded. Click Shared with Me to see files that were shared specifically with you by other people. Click Shared with Network to see files that were shared to the network.

If you don’t see the file for which you are looking, use the Filter drop-down to filter your files. You can filter by:

  • All Files to display files of all types.
  • Documents to display files of type .doc, xls, and so on.
  • Pictures to display files of type .jpg and so on.
  • Videos to display files of type .mp4, .mov, .wmv, .flv, and .avi.
  • Audio to display files of type .mp3 and so on.
  • General to display files of unknown type.

You can download or update a file on this page. However, to make other changes to a particular file, such as edit the file’s share settings or change the file name, click the file name to see the file details page. Here you can choose to edit the file settings, delete the file, and so on.

NOTE: If you create a network-level file, by default the file is shared with the current network; if you create a community-level file, by default the file is shared with the current community. You can update these defaults.