Managing Your Tasks

 

Clearvale makes it easy to manage your tasks–both those that you created and assigned to others as well as those that were created by someone else and assigned to you:

  • To see tasks that you created and assigned to others, click Tasks>Created by Me.
    • To sort the tasks, use the Filter drop-down. Filtering options are:
      • All Tasks—show all tasks that you created, regardless of their state. This is the default filter.
      • Assigned—tasks that are currently assigned to others.
      • Completed—tasks that have been completed or approved.
    • To check the status of a task, click the task name. A task summary appears that tells how many people have completed, accepted, and declined the task. Additionally, you can filter the task assignees by those who have or have not completed the task.
    • To edit a task, click the task name.  Click the Edit button and make the desired changes.
    • To close a task, click the task name. Click the Close button. You might choose to close a task if it is no longer relevant and you no longer need assignees to complete the task. When you close a task, it is marked as declined and any assignees who have not yet completed the task are indicated as having declined the task.
    • To reassign a task to someone who prematurely marked a task complete, click the Reassign action link next to their name. You only see the Reassign link if the person has previously marked the task complete and you created the task.  The task reappears in the assignee’s  Action Items.
  • To see tasks assigned to you, click Tasks>Assigned to Me.
    • If you have tasks flagged as important (orange Flag icon), you can sort these first by clicking the Flag label. To mark one the tasks assigned to you as important, click the gray Flag to make it turn orange and then sort with the important tasks.
    • To sort the tasks, use the Filter drop-down. Filtering options are:
      • All Tasks—Lists all tasks assigned to you, regardless of their state.
      • Approved—Lists all tasks that you have approved.
      • Completed—Lists all tasks that you have completed.
      • Declined—Lists any tasks that you have declined to complete.
      • Open—Lists all tasks that you have not complete. Default. You can further filter this and choose to list tasks that you have accepted and those that are assigned to you but that you haven’t accepted yet.
    • Click the task name to accept, decline, or complete a task.
      • When assigned a task, you can accept or decline the task.
      • If you accept the task, you need to complete the task and then click the Complete button (or the Approve button for Approval tasks).
      • If you are assigned multiple steps within a task, you need to accept and complete each step within the task that is assigned to you. With multi-step tasks, you cannot complete your step until the previous steps are completed.
      • If you decline a task or a step within a task, the creator of the task is notified in the Action Items list of their Activity stream.
  • Alternatively, you can see tasks assigned to you by using the Action Items tab in your Activity stream.  You receive action item messages when you are assigned a task or when someone completes your task.