Using Task Templates

Clearvale lets you create task templates that you can reuse as the basis for new tasks. Anyone can create a task template.

To create a personal task template:

  1. Click the Tasks link in the Profile Directory widget.
  2. Click Owned by Me under Task Templates.
  3. Click Add Template.
  4. Define the task to use as a basis for the template. You can choose to set the following values for the task. All are optional:
  • Name
  • Due date
  • Task type
  • Task importance
  • Description
  • Assignees
  • Attachments
  1. Click Next to define the task template.
  2. At a minimum, specify a template name.
  3. If you want to share the template with others, set the Sharing options.
  4. Click Save Template.

To create a task template to share with the network or a community:

  1. Click Task Templates in the Network Directory widget or a Community Directory widget.
  2. Click Add Template.
  3. Define the task to use as the basis for the template.
  4. Click Next to define the task template.
  5. Specify a template name.
  6. Set the Sharing options:
  • Check the Share with current network option to let others in the network use your task template.
  • Click Choose Communities to select a community with which to share the task template.
  1. Click Save Template.

Creating a Task Based on a Task Template

You can create a task based on any task template that you can access—either a template that you created or one created by someone else and shared with you.

To see the templates available to you, go to your personal page and click Tasks in the Profile Directory widget. Task templates are organized as follows:

  • Created by Me. This includes any task templates that you created. It includes those you created for your personal use as well as any community templates.
  • Shared with Me. This includes any task templates that were created by someone else and shared with you.
  • Shared with Network. This includes any task templates that were created by someone else and shared with the entire network.

If task templates have been shared with a community of which you are a member, navigate to the community and then click Task Templates in the Community Directory widget. A list of task templates shared with that particular community appear.

To create a task based on a personal task template or one shared with the network:

  1. Click My Page.
  2. Click Tasks in the Profile Directory widget.
  3. Click Add Task>Use Template.
  4. Find the template that you want to use for the task, either one that you created or one that has been shared with you.
  5. Click the Use action icon next to the task template name.
  6. Customize the task template as needed for the particular task that you are creating.

You can change any of the preset values for the task, as well as set additional values. For example, you may need to change the due date and file attachment.

7. When done customizing the task, click Save. The task is assigned to the people specified for the task.

To create a task based on a task template shared with a community:

  1. Navigate to the community.
  2. Click Task Templates in the Community Directory widget.
  3. Click the Use action icon next to the task template to use as the basis for your task.
  4. Customize the task template as needed and click Save.

Editing or Deleting a Task Template

You can edit or delete any task for which you have write permission. For example, if you created a task template, you should be able to edit it. If someone else created a task template, and gave you Edit ability, you can edit that task template as well.

To edit a task template:

  1. Click My Page.
  2. Click Tasks in the Profile Directory widget.
  3. Find the task template to edit and click the Edit action icon.
  4. Make the changes needed to the task template and click Save Template.

No changes are made to any existing tasks that are based on the template. However, any tasks created in the future would use the most recent definition for the task template.

To delete a task template:

  1. Click My Page.
  2. Click Tasks in the Profile Directory widget.
  3. Find the task template to delete and click the Delete action icon.

The task template is no longer available to anyone. Any tasks already created based on that template remain unchanged.