Cloning a Network

This feature is specific to Clearvale Enterprise.

If cloning is enabled for your network, administrators see a Clone Network tab display under Admin. To clone the network, fill out the information on the page and click Submit.

You can also limit cloning to specific communities. See Cloning a Community.

Note the following about cloning:

  • By default, you clone just the site structure. When you clone the site structure, the following is cloned:
    • Administrative settings.
    • Network page widget layout. The titles and display settings of each widget are cloned. The content of each widget is not cloned. Twitter widgets are not configured and Freeform widgets will hold no content.
    • Administrative email templates.
    • Folder hierarchy for the Network page. This includes blogs, files, wikis, and forums.
  • You can choose to include the network members and content. This includes everything listed above, plus:
    • Network members and membership data, such as roles, pending members, and disabled members.
    • Personal page widget layout, settings, and content; member profiles and photos; member account settings.
    • All existing content and comments.
    • Disabled content settings.
    • Show on Network Page settings.
    • Blogs, videos, files, forums, events, polls, message boards, bookmarks, and links.
    • Twitter widget settings.
    • Freeform widget content.
    • Follow and activity settings.
    • File version history.
    • Reported content.
  • You can choose to include the network communities. This includes:
    • Communities and community settings.
    • Community widget layout and content.
    • Folder hierarchy for each community. This includes folder for blogs, files, wikis, and forums.
  • If you clone content and members AND communities, the new network includes community membership information.
  • Regardless of the cloning options you selected, the following is never included in a cloned site:
    • Activity streams.
    • Timestamps. All network content receives a new timestamp based on when it is created in the cloned network.
    • Activity points.
    • Inbox notification messages.
    • Message board content.
    • Poll results.
    • Like/Dislike results.
  • Once you initiate a clone, the network is unavailable until the cloning process completes. Members logged into the network when cloning begins will receive a notice to log out or risk losing unsaved work; after ten minutes, these users will be logged out automatically if they remain on the network. Members who are not logged in will receive a network maintenance message and be unable to login until cloning completes.
  • If you do not copy network members, the new network Owner is the person who cloned the network. If you copy network members, they retain their network roles.
  • Members of the cloned network will see the new network display in My Networks.
  • Once cloning completes, an email that contains the new network URL is sent to the person who initiated the cloning process.
  • You can clone a network more than once.